Countries That Are in the Paris Agreement

There Was an Oral Agreement for the Sale of Real Estate. This Contract Would Be
May 5, 2023
Leave and License Agreement Transfer of Property Act
May 25, 2023

The Paris Agreement, adopted in 2015, is a historic international treaty aimed at reducing greenhouse gas emissions and preventing the worst effects of climate change. The agreement provides a framework for countries to work together to limit global warming to well below 2 degrees Celsius and pursue efforts to limit it even further to 1.5 degrees Celsius.

As of August 2021, 197 countries and the European Union have ratified the Paris Agreement, committing to take action to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions and enhance their climate resilience. Here are some of the key countries that are in the Paris Agreement:

1. United States

The United States joined the Paris Agreement in 2016 under the Obama administration, but later withdrew under the Trump administration in 2017. However, President Biden rejoined the agreement in 2021, signaling a renewed commitment to the fight against climate change.

2. China

China is the world’s largest emitter of greenhouse gases, responsible for nearly 30% of global emissions. The country has pledged to peak its emissions by 2030 and achieve carbon neutrality by 2060, a significant step towards meeting the goals of the Paris Agreement.

3. India

India is the world’s third-largest emitter of greenhouse gases and has committed to reducing its emissions intensity by 33-35% by 2030 compared to 2005 levels. The country has also set a target of achieving 40% of its energy from non-fossil fuel sources by 2030.

4. European Union

The European Union is a bloc of 27 countries that have all ratified the Paris Agreement. Together, they have pledged to reduce emissions by at least 40% by 2030 compared to 1990 levels and achieve net-zero emissions by 2050.

5. Japan

Japan has committed to reducing its emissions by 26% by 2030 compared to 2013 levels and achieving carbon neutrality by 2050. The country has also pledged to raise its share of renewable energy to 24% by 2030.

6. Brazil

Brazil is the largest country in South America and has committed to reducing its greenhouse gas emissions by 37% by 2025 compared to 2005 levels. The country has also set a target of achieving 45% of its electricity from renewable sources by 2030.

7. Canada

Canada has committed to reducing its greenhouse gas emissions by 30% below 2005 levels by 2030 and achieving net-zero emissions by 2050. The country has also introduced a carbon pricing system to incentivize emissions reductions.

Overall, the Paris Agreement has brought together countries from all over the world to take action on climate change. While there is still much work to be done, the commitment of so many nations to the common goal of reducing greenhouse gas emissions is a positive step towards a sustainable future.

Comments are closed.